[...Not the female he thought he saw. Next to the body was an old generation M-16 commonly used by a guerrilla faction against the US government that consisted of mostly ex military from the war. Not the AK-47 he heard. To complicate things more, the man's throat had been slit and he appeared to have been dead for hours...]
2008
"Alright yall, let's get this party started"
Nic announces this as he and Kiesha enter the living room. Candace and Nahlia both rise from the couch and head for the front door. As they are exiting Nic remembers something.
"You guys go ahead and get in the car, I gotta grab something"
Nic darts back into the house and into his room he opens the drawer to the nightstand next to his bed and pulls out an old silver pocket watch. Staring at it briefly he mumbles to himself.
"I don't know where yo ass is, Pop, but this is probably the only thing that would make you proud of me, so I'm letting you come along this time."
He clenches the watch in his hand momentarily before shoving it in his pocket and heading out the house. As Nic steps out of the house, the afternoon sunlight feels perfect. He's caught for a moment just starring at the sky just over the rooftops. He grins to himself locks the door to the house and begins to walk curbside to the car.
"Ay nigga!!"
A voice calls out from two houses down the street.
"Shit!"
Nic exclaims to himself as he tries to walk faster to the car.
"Ay Nigga! I'm talking to yo bitch ass! Where you from nigga!"
A neighborhood gang member is quickly approaching Nic. He is wearing a black t-shirt and black khaki pants with white shoes. His hand is underneath his shirt near his waistline suggesting he was carrying a gun.
Nic knows he can't dive into the car with his family if this thug is ready to shoot. He'll only endanger them if he did. He stops short of the car standing in the middle of the sidewalk starring at the ground. Seeing this, Kiesha jumps out of the car and runs to grab Nic.
"Baby don't! Just get in the car!..."
Grabbing her by her shoulders Nic exclaims
"What the fuck are you doing?!?!"
"Fuck yo bitch nigga!"
Sunday, October 4, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment